Skip to main content

The GEO Global Agricultural Monitoring (GEOGLAM) InitiativeThe GEO Global Agricultural Monitoring (GEOGLAM) Initiative

Project Description

GEOGLAM is the Group on Earth Observations Global Agricultural Monitoring Initiative. Launched in June 2011 by the Group of Twenty (G20) Agriculture Ministers and reaffirmed in January 2017, GEOGLAM is an international program geared toward enhancing the use of Earth observations to strengthen decision making, action taking, and policy in the realms of food security and sustainable agriculture. The GEOGLAM initiative forms part of the G20 Action Plan on Food Price Volatility, which also includes the Agricultural Market Information System (AMIS; GEOGLAM is a collaborative initiative with an inherently synthetic focus. It draws on the expert knowledge and experience of international agriculture experts from around the world, who focus on food production and food security and national, regional, and global scales. GEOGLAM aims to leverage and build upon existing programs and activities through coordinated Earth observation, capacity development, monitoring, and research and development activities. Drs. Chris Justice and Inbal Becker-Reshef along with others in the Department of Geographical Sciences at UMD were instrumental in the conception, design, and realization of GEOGLAM, starting with leading the GEO Agricultural Monitoring Task and helping organize and establish the GEO Agriculture Monitoring Community of Practice (Ag CoP). Today, Justice, Becker-Reshef, and Alyssa Whitcraft are still instrumental in GEOGLAM program leadership, with critical support of the programs activities facilitated at the CGLAMR: we coordinate the monthly GEOGLAM Crop Monitor, staff the GEOGLAM Secretariat, and serve as co-leads on the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS) Ad Hoc Team for GEOGLAM and on regional networks (e.g. AmeriGEOSS, GEOGLAM Latinoamerica, and AfriGAM). For the most up-to-date information on GEOGLAM, follow us on Twitter: and

Project personnel

Chris Justice
Inbal Becker-Reshef
Alyssa Whitcraft
Matt Hansen

Point of contact
Alyssa Whitcraft